History That Never Was

Home of Dawn Vogel: Writer, Historian, Geek

Story Arc in a Triology

The nice thing about writing a trilogy or other series is that you can have a story arc that lasts longer than a single book, allowing for a much larger story arc.

Taken individually, the books in the Brass and Glass series each have their own arcs: 1) find the Cask; 2) find the map; 3) find the treasure. But the arcs all piece together to create a larger arc, which illuminates the history behind each of the individual pieces, and shows the depth of the conspiracy that’s been put into place.

Brass and Glass: The Cask of Cranglimmering started out as a short story. You can still see pieces of that short story in the book, as it worked very well to introduce the bigger picture. But ultimately, it wasn’t a short story because it was that introduction to the bigger picture–a picture that ultimately took three books to fully paint.

While I’m more interested in writing stand-alone books, having completed one trilogy, I still enjoy the way that having a trilogy for this idea gave it the room it needed to fully expand into something epic. I suspect I’ll return to the format some day, once I’ve gotten some of these stand-alone ideas out of my system.

In the meantime, you can find the series in ebooks or print, starting with Brass and Glass: The Cask of Cranglimmering.

About The Author


Leave a Reply